Show Me The Money

He looked down at the thin notes held tightly between his thumb and index finger. A twenty, a couple of tens and a bunch of singles. He looked up at a round, fat face smiling at his misfortune. Eyes full of menace and violent potential stared right back at him.

“Where’s my money?”

He counted up the small handful of banknotes for about the hundredth time but there still wasn’t enough.

“Where’s my money?”

He looked around the room for some moral support, even charity, but all around were shoegazing, staying well out of this situation.

“Where’s my money?”

“I’m sorry but I just don’t have it, I can give you fifty bucks now and the rest next time around.”

“No. Where’s my money?”

“Look, don’t be an asshole, I’ll get you the rest really soon”

“Not soon enough. Give me my fifty bucks”

He bundled up the cash and handed it across the small table, a large fat hand ripped it from his, almost tearing the paper. Why did it always have to be like this?

“Thanks, now get your broke ass off my property!”

“Jesus Dave, Why do you always have to be such a prick like that?”

“It’s just business, you know that. Money makes the world go round or something. This is America after all”

“No Dave, it’s just Monopoly!”

3 thoughts on “Show Me The Money”

Leave a Reply

